National Catholic Safeguarding Standards

The National Catholic Safeguarding Standards (NCSS) comprise 10 Standards, providing the framework for Catholic Church entities to build child-safe cultures and to advance the safety of children and vulnerable adults across the Catholic Church in Australia.

The first phase of implementation of the Standards focuses on safeguarding practices for the protection of children, taking into account the guidance of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse and the National Statement of Principles for Child Safe Organisations from the Australian Human Rights Commission (draft).

The Standards will subsequently be extended to include safeguarding practices relating to vulnerable adults.


Catholic Professional Standards Ltd is working to have the National Catholic Safeguarding Standards – focusing on children – ratified and published early 2019.

  1. Standard one

    Committed leadership, governance and culture

    The leadership and governance arrangements of Church entities promote an inclusive, welcoming environment for children and provide the foundation for transparent, accountable and risk-based approaches to ensure child safety

    Read more

  2. Standard two

    Children are safe, informed and participate

    Children are informed about their rights, are given the opportunity to participate in decisions which affect them and their views are taken seriously

    Read more

  3. Standard three

    Partnering with families, carers and communities

    Families, carers and communities are informed and involved in promoting child safety

    Read more

  4. Standard four

    Equity is promoted and diversity is respected

    Equity is upheld and diversity needs are respected in policy and practice

    Read more

  5. Standard five

    Robust human resource management

    Church personnel are suitable and supported to implement safeguarding in practice

    Read more

  6. Standard six

    Effective complaints management

    Processes for raising concerns and complaints are responsive, understood, accessible and used by children, families, carers, communities and Church personnel

    Read more

  7. Standard seven

    Ongoing education and training

    Church personnel are equipped with knowledge, skills and awareness to keep children safe through information, ongoing education and training

    Read more

  8. Standard eight

    Safe physical and online environments

    Physical and online environments promote safety and contain appropriate safeguards to minimise the opportunity for children to be harmed

    Read more

  9. Standard nine

    Policies and procedures support child safety

    Policies and procedures document how the Church entity is safe for children

    Read more

  10. Standard ten

    Regular improvement

    Church entities regularly review and improve implementation of their systems for keeping children safe

    Read more